

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of Stirchley and Brookside Parish Council held on Tuesday 14 May 2024 at 6:30pm at the Sambrook Centre, Stirchley

Present: Cllrs C Lloyd (Chair), C Addison, S Cook, A England, K Jolly, J Loveridge, G Sinclair, T Skidmore, C Turley, S Vaughan-Hodkinson, A Watkin, T Wood

In Attendance: C Maclean (Locum Clerk/RFO), J Creed (Environmental Services Officer)
Members of Public: 1

AGM/24/001 WELCOME

Cllr C Lloyd welcomed everyone to the meeting.

AGM/24/002 ELECTION OF CHAIR

Proposed by Cllr T Wood, seconded by Cllr J Loveridge that Cllr C Lloyd be Chair of the Council for 2024/25.

No other nominations were received.

It was unanimously resolved that Cllr C Lloyd be Chair of the Council for 2024/25.

AGM/24/003 ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE OF CHAIR

Cllr C Lloyd signed and read to the meeting the Acceptance of Office which was subsequently signed and noted by the Locum Clerk/RFO, being the Proper Officer.

AGM/24/004 ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR

Proposed by Cllr J Loveridge, seconded by Cllr S Vaughan-Hodkinson that Cllr T Wood be Vice-Chair of the Council for 2024/25.

No other nominations were received.

It was resolved (11 in favour, 1 abstention) that Cllr T Wood be Vice-Chair of the Council for 2024/25.

AGM/24/005 ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE OF VICE-CHAIR

Cllr T Wood signed and read to the meeting the Acceptance of Office which was subsequently signed and noted by the Locum Clerk/RFO, being the Proper Officer.

AGM/24/006 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

None.

AGM/24/007 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

None declared at this point of the meeting.

AGM/24/008 MINUTES

Cllrs noted the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 16 May 2023 were approved at the meeting of Council on 11 July 2023.



AGM/24/009 COUNCILLOR ALLOWANCES

Cllr T Wood proposed a motion that the allowance be removed and replaced by a policy whereby expenses incurred are refunded. This would enable co-opted Cllrs to have their expenses covered whereas under the current arrangement only elected Cllrs are entitled to draw the allowance. Cllr S Vaughan-Hodkinson seconded the proposal.

Cllr A England opposed the motion citing that the Council currently complied with the regulations and saw no reason to change.

Cllrs debated the merits of changing to an expenses policy.

The motion of removing the allowance and replacing with an expenses policy went to a vote with 3 Cllrs in favour, 2 abstentions and 7 Cllrs opposed to the change. It was therefore resolved that the current allowance arrangement remain in place.

AGM/24/010 COUNCIL REPRESENTATION ON EXTERNAL ORGANISATIONS

a. SALC Wrekin Area Committee (2 Representatives)

Cllr S Vaughan-Hodkinson explained the structure within which the committee sat and that the two representatives have voting rights in relation to motions presented.

Cllr S Vaughan-Hodkinson advised Cllrs she was prepared to continue representing the Council on the Committee and Cllr T Wood stated she would be prepared to support in attending future meetings. There were no proposals for alternative representation.

b. Brookside Central CIO Board of Trustees (2 Representatives)

Cllrs noted that the Parish Council no longer had representation on the CIO Board of Trustees.

Cllrs C Lloyd and J Loveridge declared their interests in this agenda item and excluded themselves from the motions.

Cllrs debated the motion that the Council's representatives be the Clerk and one Cllr.

Proposed by Cllr T Wood, seconded by Cllr S Vaughan-Hodkinson and with the two abstentions due to the declaration of interests it was unanimously resolved that the Clerk be one of two representatives on the CIO Board of Trustees.

Cllrs debated the Cllr representation and Cllr S Cook declared he was prepared to represent the Council.

Proposed by Cllr A England, seconded by Cllr S Vaughan-Hodkinson and with the two abstentions due to the declaration of interests it was unanimously resolved that the Cllr S Cook be one of two representatives on the CIO Board of Trustees.

c. Climate Change Champion

Cllr S Vaughan-Hodkinson explained the role of climate change champion for the Parish Council which she currently fulfilled.

Proposed by Cllr T Wood, seconded by Cllr J Loveridge and it was unanimously resolved that Cllr S Vaughan-Hodkinson continue as climate change champion for the Council.

d. Climate Change Communities Forum

Cllr S Vaughan-Hodkinson explained the background to the current setup whereby the forum was open to all groups.



Proposed by Cllr T Wood, seconded by Cllr J Loveridge and it was unanimously resolved that Cllr S Vaughan-Hodkinson continue as the Council's representative on the Climate Change Communities Forum.

e. Bus User Group

Cllr S Vaughan-Hodkinson explained she currently represented the Council on the bus user group which mostly met in person. It was noted that Telford & Wrekin Council no longer attend meetings of this group and use alternative methods of communication with Arriva. Cllrs debated representation and it was agreed to defer this until the next meeting date was made known. Cllrs agreed that representation could include a member of the Council team.

f. Safeguarding Councillor

Cllrs debated the role required in this area. It was agreed that a review be undertaken to clarify responsibilities and that the topic be discussed within the next quarter.

g. Tree Warden

Cllr G Sinclair advised that he was currently undertaking the role and was prepared to continue.

Proposed by Cllr J Loveridge, seconded by Cllr T Wood and it was unanimously resolved that Cllr G Sinclair continue as tree warden for the Council.

h. Snow Warden

Cllrs noted that the role was currently being performed by Creed. Proposed by Cllr T Wood, seconded by Cllr J Loveridge and it was unanimously resolved that Creed continue as snow warden for the Council.

i. CPRE

Cllr G Sinclair advised Cllrs that he had represented the Council on this body but wished to step down from the role. Cllrs noted the group's meetings were monthly and mainly online.

It was agreed to defer this item to a future meeting.

The Chair thanked everyone and declared the meeting closed at 7:16pm.

Signed	
-	Date: 25 June 2024
Chair	